Book Order by Series

James Patterson Witch and Wizard Series in Order

Advertising disclosure: I may earn a commission if you buy anything using one of the links. Learn more.

Welcome to our overview of James Patterson’s “Witch & Wizard” series. This article will provide a straightforward guide to the books in this popular series, focusing on the order in which they should be read.

The series starts with “Witch & Wizard,” introducing siblings Whit and Wisty Allgood, who find themselves in a dystopian world controlled by a strict government. The storyline continues through “The Gift,” “The Fire,” “The Kiss,” and concludes with “The Lost.” Each book in the series builds on the siblings’ struggle against an oppressive regime and their developing magical abilities.

In addition to the main novels, Patterson has expanded the series with graphic novels, including “Battle for Shadowland” and “Operation Zero.” These are set between the main books and add visual depth to the story.

The series also includes a manga adaptation, “Witch & Wizard: The Manga Series,” with three volumes that offer a different artistic take on the narrative.

James Patterson Witch and Wizard Series in Order

Witch & Wizard

  1. Witch & Wizard (2009)
  2. The Gift (2010)
  3. The Fire (2011)
  4. The Kiss (2013)
  5. The Lost (2014)

Witch & Wizard Graphic Novels Series

A graphic novel adaptation set in the universe of the "Witch & Wizard" series, occurring in the timeline between the main books.
  1. Battle for Shadowland (2010)
  2. Operation Zero (2011)

Witch & Wizard: The Manga Series

A manga adaptation of Witch & Wizard
  1. Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 1 (2011)
  2. Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 2 (2012)
  3. Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 3 (2013)

Similar Authors

  • “The Giver” by Lois Lowry – This novel presents a seemingly utopian society that gradually reveals its darker, more oppressive nature. It focuses on a young boy, Jonas, who learns about the complex and often painful realities of life outside his sheltered community.
  • “Divergent” by Veronica Roth – Set in a dystopian world where society is divided into factions based on human virtues, this novel follows the story of Tris Prior, a teenager who discovers she doesn’t fit into any one group and uncovers a conspiracy threatening her society.
  • “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins – This well-known novel takes place in a dystopian future where a repressive regime forces children to participate in annual televised survival games. It combines elements of adventure, societal critique, and the struggle for justice.

Most Recommended Books

  1. Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 3 (4.31 Goodreads Score)
  2. Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 2 (4.18 Goodreads Score)
  3. Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 1 (4.11 Goodreads Score)
  4. Operation Zero (3.94 Goodreads Score)
  5. The Lost (3.90 Goodreads Score)


Throughout his illustrious career, James Patterson has been the recipient of several prestigious awards. He has been honored twice with the Literarian Award from the National Book Foundation, in the years 2015 and 2022. In 2019, he was the recipient of the National Humanities Medal. Additionally, his accolades include the Edgar Award, the Thriller of the Year, and the Children’s Choice Book Award for Author of the Year.

Upcoming Releases

Upcoming releases from James Patterson include “Cross Out” on November 20, 2023, and “What Really Happens in Vegas” on December 4, 2023. In 2024, two books, “Holmes, Miss Marple, and Poe Investigations” and “Middle School: Million Dollar Mess,” will be released on January 8, followed by “Tiger, Tiger” on February 12. These new books are expected to be engaging additions to Patterson’s body of work.

Book Summaries

The Kiss

Whit and Wisty Allgood always been close, but when Wisty falls for a mysterious stranger named Heath, their bond is tested. Wisty feels a newfound freedom when she is with Heath, especially when they explore their magical abilities together. However, their world is threatened by a ruthless Wizard King, and Wisty must make a difficult decision. Will she join forces with her brother to fight against the impending danger, or will she trust the enchanting boy who has stolen her heart?

See on Amazon

The Lost

In "The Lost" Whit and Wisty Allgood are on a journey to understand the true meaning of power. This explosive conclusion to the Witch & Wizard series follows the siblings as they face a dangerous crime wave in their city. As they are targeted and doubted by the citizens, Whit and Wisty must confront their own uncertainties and work together to confront a powerful and heartless new enemy. Will they be able to overcome the growing hostility and protect their city from this imminent threat?

See on Amazon

Battle for Shadowland

In "Battle for Shadowland" siblings Whit and Wisty Allgood find themselves in a world where magic is considered evil. They use their newfound magical abilities to enter the enemy territory of the New Order and try to gain control of the inter-dimensional Shadowland.

See on Amazon

Operation Zero

In "Operation Zero", a continuation of James Patterson’s series, Whit and Wisty undertake a mission to overthrow the One Who Is The One. Teaming up with a new ally from within the New Order, they navigate a path filled with uncertainty and risk. Questions of loyalty and betrayal loom as they grapple with placing their trust in their newfound associate. Armed with their magical abilities, Whit and Wisty are determined to succeed in their mission, fighting diligently to free their world from oppressive forces.

See on Amazon

Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 1

"Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 1" is a story about two ordinary teenagers, Whit and Wisty, whose lives are turned upside down when they wake up to a world that has drastically changed. Accused of having extraordinary powers, they become targets of a new political regime called The New Order. Now, they must fight for their freedom and survival as they discover the incredible powers within themselves.

See on Amazon

Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 2

"In Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 2" siblings Whit and Wisty find themselves imprisoned by a totalitarian regime called the New Order. They manage to escape and join a hidden community of teens who are fighting against the regime. As leaders of the Resistance, they are determined to save other kidnapped kids. However, their plans are disrupted when they discover that Wisty has a special gift. As they navigate through different worlds, their thrilling adventures lead to an unexpected and exciting ending.

See on Amazon

Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 3

"In Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 3" Whit and Wisty have grown stronger in their magical abilities. However, they are still unable to stop The One Who Is The One from causing destruction. With a looming confrontation, the siblings must come up with a plan to defeat the tyrant before he becomes unstoppable and destroys everything they care about.

See on Amazon

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments