Book Order by Series

James Patterson’s Invisible Series in Order

Advertising disclosure: I may earn a commission if you buy anything using one of the links. Learn more.

The James Patterson “Invisible” series consists of two books focused on crime investigation, featuring the main character Emmy Dockery.

The first book, “Invisible,” centers on Emmy Dockery, an FBI researcher on leave, who is dedicated to linking together several unsolved cases. Her approach is seen as excessive by many, including her ex-boyfriend and field agent, Harrison ‘Books’ Bookman. Emmy, however, finds a critical piece of evidence that convinces Books to join her investigation. They confront a series of complex crimes, questioning if they might be connected to a single perpetrator.

In the second book, “Unsolved,” Emmy, now an FBI analyst, faces a challenging case with victims who seem to have died accidentally. Convinced that these are not random but the actions of a serial killer, she works to prove her theory. This obsession brings her under scrutiny from the FBI and places her under the surveillance of someone who is closely watching her actions.

See also: Patterson’s Billy Harney Series in Order

Invisible Series in Order

  1. Invisible (2014)
  2. Unsolved (2019)

Similar Authors

  • “The Keeper of Lost Causes” by Jussi Adler-Olsen – This is the first book in the Department Q series, featuring Detective Carl Mørck who investigates cold cases. The story revolves around a politician’s mysterious disappearance, combining intricate investigation with character depth, much like the “Invisible” series.
  • “I Am Watching You” by Teresa Driscoll – In this thriller, the mysterious disappearance of a young woman leads to a complex web of secrets and hidden connections, echoing the multi-layered mysteries of the “Invisible” series.
  • “Before I Go to Sleep” by S.J. Watson – This psychological thriller tells the story of a woman with amnesia who tries to uncover the truth about her life each day. Its exploration of memory, identity, and truth-seeking is similar to the investigative and psychological aspects of the “Invisible” series.

See also: Rizzoli And Isles Books in Order

Most Recommended Books

  1. Invisible (4.14 Goodreads Score)
  2. Unsolved (4.22 Goodreads Score)


James Patterson’s career is marked by several prestigious awards. He received the Literarian Award from the National Book Foundation in 2015 and 2022, and the National Humanities Medal in 2019. His other honors include the Edgar Award, Thriller of the Year, and the Children’s Choice Book Award for Author of the Year.

Upcoming Releases

Upcoming book releases from James Patterson include “Cross Out,” scheduled for November 20, 2023, and “What Really Happens in Vegas,” set for December 4, 2023. In 2024, Patterson plans to release “Holmes, Miss Marple, and Poe Investigations” and “Middle School: Million Dollar Mess” on January 8, followed by “Tiger, Tiger” on February 12.

Book Summaries


Emmy Dockery, on leave from her FBI researcher role, is consumed with connecting hundreds of unsolved cases, an obsession viewed as madness by others. Haunted by nightmares of a devastating fire and armed with newspaper clippings, Emmy faces skepticism, even from her ex-boyfriend and field agent, Harrison Books Bookman. Undeterred, Emmy uncovers a vital piece of evidence, drawing Books into her investigation. As mysterious and motiveless crimes escalate, they grapple with the unimaginable possibility: could a single perpetrator be orchestrating these horrific acts?

See on Amazon


FBI analyst Emmy Dockery has a unique talent for finding patterns that others miss, leading to numerous successful arrests. However, she is now faced with a perplexing case that seems to have no connections or explanations. The victims all appear to have died accidentally, but Emmy believes there is more to it. Convinced that a highly intelligent serial killer is behind these deaths, she becomes determined to prove her theory. As her obsession grows, she attracts the attention of the FBI, putting herself at risk of becoming a suspect. Little does she know, there is someone else closely observing her every move, patiently waiting for the right moment.

See on Amazon

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments