Book Order by Series

Debbie Macomber’s The Manning Family Series in Order 

Advertising disclosure: I may earn a commission if you buy anything using one of the links. Learn more.

Debbie Macomber’s ‘The Manning Family’ series is a collection of novels that revolve around the lives and romantic encounters of the Manning family members. Set against the backdrop of Cougar Point, Montana, and other locations, the series offers a gentle exploration of family dynamics, personal growth, and the unexpected ways love can enter one’s life.

In this series, starting with “The Cowboy’s Lady” and ending with “Same Time, Next Year,” Macomber introduces readers to various members of the Manning family, each with their own unique experiences and perspectives on love and relationships. The series is characterized by its heartwarming narratives, relatable characters, and the portrayal of love as a powerful force capable of transforming lives.

Each novel in the series presents a different story, yet all are interconnected by the theme of family and the pursuit of happiness in both personal and romantic realms. Macomber’s storytelling is known for its simplicity and emotional depth, making the Manning Family series a comfortable and engaging read for those who enjoy contemporary romance and family-centered stories.

Join us as we explore the world of the Mannings, discovering the joys, challenges, and surprises of love and relationships through the eyes of Debbie Macomber’s characters.

Debbie Macomber The Manning Family Series in Order

The Manning Sisters Series

  1. The Cowboy’s Lady (1990)
  2. The Sheriff Takes a Wife (1990)

Those Manning Men Series

  1. Marriage of Inconvenience (1992)
  2. Stand-In Wife (1992)
  3. Bride on the Loose (1992)
  4. Same Time, Next Year (1995)

Authors Similar to Debbie Macomber

  • “Chesapeake Blue” by Nora Roberts – Part of the Chesapeake Bay Saga, this novel focuses on the Quinn family and their lives in a small town on the Chesapeake Bay. It combines elements of family dynamics, personal struggles, and romance, much like the Manning Family series. See also: The MacGregors Series in Order
  • “Return to Sullivan’s Island” by Dorothea Benton Frank – Set on Sullivan’s Island in South Carolina, this book tells the story of a family dealing with legacy, love, and life changes. The focus on family relationships and the exploration of romantic encounters echo the themes in Macomber’s series. See also: Dorothea Benton’s Books in Order.
  • “The Summer I Dared” by Barbara Delinsky – This novel explores themes of love, family, and self-discovery. Set in a small coastal town, it follows the lives of characters who are interconnected through family ties and personal relationships, similar to the interconnected stories of the Manning family.

See also: Virgin River Series by Robyn Carr.

Most Recommended Books

  1. Some Kind of Wonderful (4.07 Goodreads score)
  2. Almost Paradise (4.02 Goodreads score)
  3. Cindy And The Prince (3.89 Goodreads score)


Debbie Macomber was honored with the RITA Award in 2003 for “The Christmas Basket,” earned a fan-voted romance award in 2005, and is a three-time recipient of the B. Dalton Award.

Upcoming Releases

Book Summaries

The Cowboy’s Lady

"The Cowboy's Lady" is a romance novel about Taylor Manning, who moves to Cougar Point, Montana after a breakup. She plans to focus on herself and avoid men, but everything changes when she meets Russ Palmer, a handsome and stubborn local rancher. Despite their initial dislike for each other, their undeniable chemistry keeps pulling them together. Russ, who is raising his teenage sister alone, doesn't appreciate Taylor questioning his parenting decisions. However, if Taylor can stop arguing and give Russ a chance, he might just give her a reason to stay in Cougar Point.

See on Amazon

The Sheriff Takes a Wife

"The Sheriff Takes a Wife" is a story about Christy Manning, a kind-hearted woman who travels to Cougar Point, Montana to support her sister during the birth of her first child. However, when her brother-in-law goes missing and her sister refuses to leave without him, Christy turns to Sheriff Cody Franklin for help. As they work together, sparks fly between them, but there's a catch - Christy is already engaged to another man. Despite their intense connection, Christy must make a difficult choice that will inevitably hurt someone.

See on Amazon

Marriage of Inconvenience

"Marriage of Inconvenience" is a story about two longtime friends, Rich Manning and Jamie Warren. When Jamie asks Rich to be the father of her desired child, he agrees on one condition - they must get married. As they embark on this unexpected journey, they both discover new sides of each other and are surprised by the depth of their feelings. Now, Rich must convince Jamie that it's time to reveal their secret love to the world and prove that their love is meant to last.

See on Amazon

Stand-In Wife

Paul Manning is devastated by a tragic event that leaves him a widower with three young children. Overwhelmed by grief, Paul reaches out to Leah Baker, a kind and compassionate person he knows he can rely on. As Leah supports him through his pain, Paul realizes that he not only needs her in his life, but also desires more than just a temporary replacement for his late wife.

See on Amazon

Bride on the Loose

Jason Manning is happy being single and enjoying his messy lifestyle and love for sports. However, everything changes when a young girl named Carrie introduces him to her mother, Charlotte. Surprisingly, Charlotte is just as uninterested in marriage as Jason. But as Jason gets to know Charlotte better, his feelings begin to shift and he starts to see her as his potential bride.

See on Amazon

Same Time, Next Year

James Wilkens meets Summer Lawton in Las Vegas on New Year's Eve. Both have experienced heartbreak and make a pact to meet again in Vegas the following year. Little do they know, their reunion will turn into something more than just a date.

See on Amazon

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments