Book Order by Series

When the Wind Blows Series in Order

Advertising disclosure: I may earn a commission if you buy anything using one of the links. Learn more.

James Patterson’s “When the Wind Blows” series begins with a book of the same name, centering on Frannie O’Neill, a Colorado veterinarian grappling with her husband’s mysterious death. Her life takes an unexpected turn with the arrival of Kit Harrison, an FBI agent, and Max, an extraordinary eleven-year-old, leading her into a series of mysterious and life-altering events.

The series then takes a unique turn with “The Lake House,” a short story that shifts focus to four college friends – Allen, Daina, Rachel, and Richard. They reunite for a weekend at a lakeside house, where they revisit old memories and play a game from their college days, leading to a night full of surprises.

When the Wind Blows Series in Order

  1. When the Wind Blows (1998)
  2. The Lake House (2003)

Similar Authors

  • “The Passage” by Justin Cronin: This novel features a world transformed by a failed government experiment, leading to dramatic changes in society. It’s a blend of suspense and science fiction, akin to the speculative and mysterious nature of Patterson’s series.
  • “The Girl with All the Gifts” by M.R. Carey: Set in a dystopian future, this book follows the story of Melanie, a young girl in a world afflicted by a widespread disease. The narrative combines elements of suspense and science fiction, similar to the themes found in “When the Wind Blows.”
  • “Dark Matter” by Blake Crouch: This novel is about a physicist named Jason Dessen who encounters alternate realities. The story is a mix of science fiction and psychological suspense, offering a similar experience to Patterson’s series where ordinary settings are intertwined with extraordinary events.

See also: Women’s Murder Club Series in Order.

Most Recommended Books

  1. When the Wind Blows (3.93 Goodreads Score)
  2. The Lake House (3.80 Goodreads Score)


James Patterson has been honored with several awards, including the Literarian Award from the National Book Foundation in 2015 and 2022, the National Humanities Medal in 2019, and accolades like the Edgar Award, the Thriller of the Year, and the Children’s Choice Book Award for Author of the Year.

Upcoming Releases

James Patterson enthusiasts can anticipate a series of new releases, starting with “Cross Out” on November 20, 2023, and “What Really Happens in Vegas” on December 4, 2023. The new year brings “Holmes, Miss Marple, and Poe Investigations” and “Middle School: Million Dollar Mess” on January 8, 2024, followed by “Tiger, Tiger” on February 12, 2024. These upcoming books promise to be exciting additions to Patterson’s work.

Book Summaries

When the Wind Blows

"When the Wind Blows" follows Frannie O'Neill, a veterinarian in Colorado who is grieving the mysterious murder of her husband. As she immerses herself in her work, another strange murder occurs, and an unconventional FBI agent named Kit Harrison shows up at her door. One night, Frannie discovers a remarkable phenomenon near her animal hospital that will forever change her life. She meets Max, an extraordinary eleven-year-old who leads Frannie and Kit on a thrilling journey to uncover a sinister scientific plot.

See on Amazon

The Lake House

"The Lake House" is a short story about four college friends - Allen, Daina, Rachel, and Richard - who reunite for a fun-filled weekend at Richard's beautiful lakeside home. Leaving their responsibilities behind, Allen and Daina embark on a journey to reconnect with their friends and create new memories. As they indulge in food, drinks, and laughter, they decide to play a nostalgic game from their college days, "Never Have I Ever..." This leads to a night filled with excitement and surprises, making their time at the lake house truly unforgettable.

See on Amazon

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments