Book Order by Series

Throne of Glass Books Ranked and Listed in Order

Advertising disclosure: I may earn a commission if you buy anything using one of the links. Learn more.

The “Throne of Glass” series by Sarah J. Maas is an epic saga that takes readers on an exciting adventure. The main character, 18-year-old Celaena Sardothien, is a former slave and a highly trained assassin. She gets a chance to compete to become the King’s Champion, which means she has to face other skilled fighters in tough competitions. Throughout the series, readers will find a mix of action, suspense, and surprises as Celaena deals with challenges, makes friends, and uncovers secrets within the castle. 

Author Sarah J. Maas has created a clear and exciting world where each character plays a significant role, adding to the richness of the story. Reading the series feels like going on a journey full of unexpected turns, where there’s always something new to discover.

Reading Order of Throne of Glass

  1. The Assassin’s Blade (Prequel Novella) (2014)
  2. Throne of Glass (2012)
  3. Crown of Midnight (2013)
  4. Heir of Fire (2014)
  5. Queen of Shadows (2015)
  6. Empire of Storms (2016)
  7. Tower of Dawn (2017)
  8. Kingdom of Ash (2018)

Similar Authors

  • “Graceling” by Kristin Cashore – A thrilling fantasy novel with a strong female protagonist and a captivating world-building.
  • “Red Queen” by Victoria Aveyard – A gripping dystopian tale filled with political intrigue, rebellion, and a complex heroine. See The Red Queen Series in Order.
  • “The Selection” by Kiera Cass – A story set in a future society where a young girl is chosen to compete for the heart of a prince.

You may also like the Grishaverse Series by Leigh Bardugo.

The Best Throne of Glass Books

  1. Kingdom of Ash (Throne of Glass, #8) (4.64 Goodreads score)
  2. Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #6) (4.58 Goodreads score)
  3. Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #5) (4.57 Goodreads score)
  4. Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #4) (4.46 Goodreads score)


Sarah J. Maas received the Goodreads’ Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction award in 2015 for Queen of Shadows, in 2016 for A Court of Mist and Fury, in 2017 for A Court of Wings and Ruin, and in 2018 for Kingdom of Ash, as well as the Goodreads’ Best Fantasy award in 2020, 2021, and 2022 for House of Earth and Blood, A Court of Silver Flames, and House of Sky and Breath.

Upcoming Releases

Book Summaries

The Assassin’s Blade

"The Assassin's Blade" is a tale about Celaena Sardothien, the most feared assassin in her kingdom. Despite working for the powerful Assassin's Guild, she trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. However, when her master sends her on dangerous missions, Celaena begins to question her loyalty and takes matters into her own hands. To escape her master's control, she must rely on her intelligence and skills with a blade, knowing that failure could cost her not only her freedom but also her life.

See on Amazon

Throne of Glass

The story follows Celaena Sardothien, an assassin who is summoned to the castle. Although she despises the cruel king, she enters a deadly competition to win her freedom. However, as her competitors begin to die under mysterious circumstances, Celaena's fight for freedom turns into a fight for her life. She must uncover the evil lurking in the castle before it destroys everything she holds dear.

See on Amazon

Crown of Midnight

Celaena Sardothien, the King's Champion, is faced with a difficult choice. Despite her loyalty to the crown, she discovers that others are also seeking justice. As she searches for answers, those closest to her become entangled in her dangerous game. No one is safe from suspicion, including the Crown Prince, the Captain of the Guard, and even her best friend, a rebellious princess. When a tragic event occurs, Celaena's world is shattered, forcing her to determine where her true loyalties lie and what she is willing to fight for.

See on Amazon

Heir of Fire

Celaena Sardothien faces a new threat and must confront a dark truth that could change her life. As she prepares to battle monstrous forces that seek to enslave her world, Celaena must find the strength to face her destiny and shine brighter than ever before.

See on Amazon

Queen of Shadows

Aelin Galathynius becomes the queen she was destined to be. However, before she can reclaim her throne, she must face numerous challenges. Aelin fights for her cousin, a loyal warrior, her friend who is trapped in a terrible prison, and her people who are enslaved by a cruel king. With everyone she loves taken from her and everything she holds dear at risk, Aelin's heart beats with a desire for revenge.

See on Amazon

Empire of Storms

The story follows Aelin Galathynius as she prepares for an impending war. Loyalties are tested, friendships are formed and broken, and those with magic face conflict with those without. Aelin is determined to protect her loved ones and will use her power to do so. However, dark forces threaten to destroy her world, and Aelin must embark on a dangerous quest that may require her to make sacrifices for the sake of peace.

See on Amazon

Tower of Dawn

In the sixth book Chaol Westfall and Nesryn Faliq journey to the city of Antica in search of allies. They hope to form an alliance with the Khagan of the Southern Continent to save their empire. However, they also have a personal mission: to find healing for Chaol's wounds. Yrene Towers, a healer with a troubled past, reluctantly agrees to help them. As they navigate the dangerous political landscape, they discover that there are ancient secrets that could either save their world or bring about its destruction.

See on Amazon

Kingdom of Ash

Aelin Galathynius is determined to save her people, even if it comes at a great cost. Trapped and tortured by the Queen of the Fae, Aelin must find the strength to resist and protect her loved ones. As her friends and allies are scattered, they must come together to save their world. Will they be able to unite and bring hope to Erilea?

See on Amazon

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments