Book Order by Series

What Order Should I Read Heartstopper?

Advertising disclosure: I may earn a commission if you buy anything using one of the links. Learn more.

The “Heartstopper” series by Alice Oseman is a graphic novel series that focuses on love, friendship, and identity. It tells the story of two main characters, Charlie and Nick, as they go through the ups and downs of adolescence and self-discovery. Oseman depicts the growing romance between the characters and the challenges they face in their relationship. The series stands out for its true-to-life representation of LGBTQ+ experiences, making it relevant and relatable for many readers. Each book in the “Heartstopper” series is written with care and understanding, emphasizing the emotions and experiences of young love and the journey of growing up. To learn more about the “Heartstopper” series and see the books in order, keep reading this article.

See also: Best BookTok Books 2023.

Order of Heartstopper Books

  1. Heartstopper: Volume One (2019)
  2. Heartstopper: Volume Two (2019)
  3. Heartstopper: Volume Three (2020)
  4. Heartstopper: Volume Four (2021)
  5. This Winter (Novella) (2023)
  6. Heartstopper: Volume Five (2023)

Similar Authors

  • “Fangirl” by Rainbow Rowell – A heartfelt coming-of-age story about a college freshman navigating fandom, friendships, and first love.
  • “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky – A poignant and introspective novel that explores the challenges of adolescence and the power of friendship.
  • “Radio Silence” by Alice Oseman – A thought-provoking YA novel that delves into themes of identity, friendship, and the pressures of academic success.

See also: Academic Rivals to Lovers Books.

Most Recommended Books

  1. Heartstopper: Volume Four (4.63 Goodreads score)
  2. Heartstopper: Volume Three (4.60 Goodreads score)
  3. Heartstopper: Volume Two (4.57 Goodreads score)
  4. Heartstopper: Volume One (4.50 Goodreads score)


Alice Oseman has received several awards, including the Inky Awards for Silver Inky (International Fiction) for Radio Silence in 2017, the YA Book of the Year by United By Pop Awards for I Was Born For This in 2018, the Best Graphic Novels & Comics by Goodreads Choice Awards for Heartstopper: Volume 3 in 2020, The Bookseller Awards (YA Book of the Year) for Loveless, British Book Awards (Children’s Illustrated Book of the Year) for Heartstopper: Volume 4, and Waterstones Book of the Year (Book of the Year) for Heartstopper: Volume 1 in 2021, as well as the Breakthrough Author and Readers’ Choice Award by Books Are My Bag Readers’ Awards in 2022, and the Medal for Fiction at the Hay Festival in 2023.

Upcoming Releases

Alice Oseman is set to release “Heartstopper: Volume Five” from the Heartstopper series on November 9, 2023. Additionally, Oseman will release a standalone book titled “This Winter” on September 5, 2023, not part of the series.

Book Summaries

Heartstopper: Volume One

Heartstopper: Volume One is a story about two boys, Charlie and Nick, who attend the same school but have never crossed paths. However, their lives change when they are forced to sit together one day. As they become fast friends, Charlie finds himself falling for Nick, even though he believes it's unlikely they could be together. But love has a way of surprising us, and Nick may be more interested in Charlie than they both initially thought.

See on Amazon

Heartstopper: Volume Two

Heartstopper: Volume Two is a story about best friends Nick and Charlie. While Nick is aware of Charlie's sexuality, Charlie is unsure about Nick's. As their friendship deepens, Nick begins to learn more about his friends, family, and even himself.

See on Amazon

Heartstopper: Volume Three

Heartstopper: Volume Three dollows Charlie and Nick, who are now officially boyfriends. Nick has even come out to his mom, showing his growing courage. However, coming out is not a one-time event, as there are still challenges to face, such as Nick's older brother and a school trip to Paris. Life can be tough, even with the support of a loving partner. As their relationship deepens, Charlie and Nick rely on each other more than ever.

See on Amazon

Heartstopper: Volume Four

In Heartstopper: Volume Four Charlie is ready to express his love for Nick, but Nick is preoccupied with coming out to his dad and concerns about Charlie's possible eating disorder. As they navigate the transition from summer to autumn and a new school year, they will discover the true meaning of love.

See on Amazon

This Winter

"This Winter" follows Tori Spring, her younger brother Charlie, and Charlie's boyfriend Nick as they navigate a tough holiday season together.

See on Amazon

Heartstopper: Volume Five

Nick and Charlie finally expressed their love for each other and are hoping to spend more time together. However, with Nick's upcoming departure for university, their relationship may face some challenges.

See on Amazon

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments